7 continents

The seven-continent model is probably the most widely taught. There are however other ways of grouping countries into continents.

7 continents

List of the seven continents

Ranked by current population

World Population
1 Asia 4,436,224,473 31,065,762 370 59.7 %
2 Africa 1,216,129,815 29,631,734 106 16.4 %
3 Europe 738,849,002 22,058,895 87 9.9 %
4 North America 579,023,938 21,467,131 70 7.8 %
5 South America 422,534,692 17,454,085 63 5.7 %
6 Australia/Oceania 39,901,355 8,400,552 12 0.5 %
7 Antarctica 0 13,720,000 0 0%

Which continent does Russia belong to?

Russia is part of both Europe and Asia. In the 7 continent model in fact, it is not always clear where to place Russia. In the map pictured above Russia is divided into two parts (European Russia and the "Asian part" of the Russian Federation) along the Ural Mountains line, from the source of the Ural River down to the Greater Caucasus from the Caspian Sea to the Black Sea (following the modern definition of Europe as provided by the National Geographic Society). However, in the list of continents, we had to place Russia in one continent or the other, so we placed it in Europe, following the United Nations classification.

About 75% of the Russian population lives in the European continent. On the other hand, 75% of Russian territory is located in Asia.

Which continent does Hawaii belong to?

None. Hawaii is politically part of North America, but geographically it is not part of any continent.


Enter your email below to receive Worldometers' latest news (free):